Face-lift at Facebook – or another vicious circle?


Face-lift at Facebook, to keep its users engaged | NDTV Gadgets.

Read this article folks. This is the exact same issue I have been facing since the day I introduced myself to the blog world and decided that I wanted to share feeds from my blog with the world.

It seems, in the wake of the intense advertising routines that Facebook seems to have introduced in recent years on our Facebook timelines, we lose a lot of important and valuable stuff we would have wanted to see instead what we actually see are posts that we are in most probability going to like or click ‘Like’ upon.

Lets start from scratch. What would a social network want from it’s users? To keep them engaged and logged in to their website to show and establish it’s popularity. Now, to provide better services to it’s users, they themselves started filtering out the results by noticing the users browsing and clicking patterns from months of their usage basically implying to everyone that all of the other stuff from all our other friends is either unimportant or trash and something that we would never have wanted to read. How does Facebook get to decide if it can filter out our news feed? Isn’t that something absolutely pivotal to my own engagement with Facebook? I may sound like a fool to many who don’t believe in Facebook but then I never said I believed in it either. It’s of use to me only to remain connected to people who are concerned with you and whom you are concerned about and tell the people about my blog. Advertisements are a legitimate way for the company to make revenue to keep serving the millions of it’s users and hence it’s mandatory for them too keep the advertising turned on. But should it come at the expense of user feeds? How can they just randomly fathom our likes and dislikes? Just by using an algorithm that determines the best choice for us, I fail to see the point of remaining connected with around 500 friends of mine who would normally share daily but don’t show on my timeline as they have either remained absent for a while or are reluctant users of technology but they are nonetheless close friends of mine, people whom I won’t call everyday but would like to keep a tap on.

Another face-lift for Facebook or is it merely a new way to introduce advertisement at even higher costs of our privacy and time and motivation to remain on Facebook, to use it to make the best of our lives? Has it gotten the better of us? Has it gotten better than us?

Remains to be seen.

Regarding my own issue with Facebook, I would love to advertise my blog, to show my posts to the world but how will it happen if my posts keep getting suppressed below the barrage of advertisements or bull-shit posts that cloud my timeline and others timelines as well. It’s all a circle – if my posts aren’t visible to others, how will they ‘like’ them and others will never see my posts if they don’t ‘like’ my posts. How is someone ever supposed to get out of this vicious circle? Facebook’s answer will be – buy our advertisement services and we’ll raise your audience by over two-thirds of what they today are.

Is it worth it? Am I wasting my time with Facebook?

Splash Ur Views HERE!

