Zee2Etch – Task #16


Yesterday, something happened which took me by surprise. Dad and I discussed the difference between Attitude and Nature.

It all started when I asked him what is my reputation? He got confused and at first cracked all possible jokes thinking I was joking myself. But I had to shake him up and tell him to get serious as this is about a blog I have to write for a task I have signed for. He then told me a few things about me that caught my ears and here they are –

I am someone who gets influenced by my surroundings. The more I come in touch with my surrounding, the more I run away from it so no one can question my lifestyle or methods. He said I told me that I’m a thorough professional although he couldn’t, for his mediocre vocabulary, put it into a word and this was what caused a lot of commotion between the two of us. All he wanted to say was, I am different from others because of my “Professional Attitude”. Now first I took his words to actually mean “Professionalism”. But apparently, that wasn’t what it was. He wanted to tell me, that I have a nature to stay correct all the time and to do that, I may sometimes falsify some people for which I may never give any explanation. I run away from such situations and the poor chap is left scratching his head to think the wrong he has committed.

Okay. So this must be my reputation among others as well. I went around asking a lot of people about this and told my dad about it, for which he had a very simple answer – “You know, it’s only you who can gauge your reputation and no one else. Not even us. We are your parents. For us, you are the most beautiful thing that happened to us and we will never put you in a wrong place and will never mean to hurt you. But this world isn’t us. They’ll lie to you, so they may gain points with you and earn your hard-to-gain trust. So there’s no point asking others about it. Ask yourself. For example, when you enter a meeting or a social gathering, you will automatically know if you are liked or not, respected or not. That’s your reputation”.

I couldn’t have agreed more. No one will ever tell me my exact reputation. So I’ll write for this task on the basis of what my dad told me about me.

Let me explain his statements while analysing them too. He isn’t very good with what he says but spend time with him and you’ll know what he meant 2 hours ago. I’ve had an entire day to myself and when he said that I get influenced by my surroundings, he meant that I like to carry a lot of perspectives while making decisions. I like to consider all the opinions and keep my options open before coming to a conclusion. Regarding my correctness, my answer is I have forever rising inner urge to stay equal and fair to all. No one is high and no one is low. All things belong together and it’s that harmony that makes this world livable.

He said a sentence twice – that I run away from situations. Well that has just one answer, I am the rarest possible introverts possible and as my brother would testify – I told him a few days ago that I’d like to buy a recorder so I may record all my thoughts and turn them into posts on my blog. All he said was – you are the biggest introvert I have ever seen.

Just for the record, my fathers testimony is enough!

Splash Ur Views HERE!

