Memories


This Picture Was Taken 5 years after our college ended in fron t of the class in which were together punished for the firs time
This Picture Was Taken 5 years after our college ended in fron t of the class in which were together punished for the firs time

OK, I had to Google that! I had no clue what West End Girls meant and hence couldn’t connect its relevance to the description.

But I got that now – Pet Shop Boys and bla bla! I don’t cherish Pet Shop Boys as my lack of understanding would suggest and I’ll stop them right here, period.

But finally a topic, that makes sense. Tells you a lot about the author/writer/blogger, doesn’t it.

How many hands will raise if I ask my audience if they moved around a lot because their father moved a lot for his work? I’ll get many I know.

Short stays here, a longer stay there. Life was quite like that for us growing up. I don’t quite remember the cities I grew up in very early in my childhood. But I did revisit my birthplace for it’s proximity to my college after I finished school. Just couldn’t keep my hands off it. 🙂

Our surroundings in my early years were very earthly. I grew up in company provided colonies. Nearly everyone in my neighborhood had the same job varied only by their positions in the office. Everyone was an engineer – electrical, civil, electronics, mechanical – everything but a computer engineer! I grew up competing with my friends which I will admit sometimes went out of my hands and way above my head but it was all a part of a lot of fun and learning. School, breakfast, home, lunch, homework, cricket, dinner and sleep – this was my routine for all of my school years. Sounds kind of disciplinary doesn’t it and the hell it was.

I’m now thinking, this may be the reason I tend to fall so much towards mundane things with no fun. It was no fun. The best part of the day was obviously – school and cricket. I never frankly liked my home. Home was the last place I wanted to be and yet it was my safe house, my bunk.

I never had friends in school. They intruded me and my mind. Some casual acquaintances but nothing serious. I learnt mostly from my mother and teachers. They decided everything I’d do or won’t and how.

We lived in houses that were often invaded by snakes, dogs, cats, bees, birds. We lived in houses that were turned to homes by mom and dad. They would build huge gardens in every place that we ever lived in. It’s something both really cherish. Home grown fruits and vegetables often made our lunch and dinner and they were both naturally very proud of that.

We learnt riding and driving very young and dad especially made sure that I learnt to take care of my brother. We’d play for hours and hours together during our summer vacations, never getting tired. Board games, cricket, cycling, driving, video games and those fights over Hot Wheels toy cars. Who’d get what for his birthday and when both of ranked first in our class. We lived in towns no greater than Delhi’s Chandni Chowk. All of us knew all of us.

Party’s were common – birthdays especially. Picnics came too and with them came adventures and foolhardy games. It was all very normal.

And so came some of my current properties – introvert being one. I taste a lot of this world through my senses. Since, I’m alone most of my time, I think a lot. The most interesting part that I have and none in my family do is I’m prospective and not judgemental. A true ISTP.

Here’s what my fellow bloggers are writing about this topic –

  1. Well Said & Done! | Rima Hassan
  2. Recycle | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. An ad campaign 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Bogota Dame | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Daily Prompt: West End Girls-Why people get rich | Journeyman
  6. Society | Mara Eastern
  7. Big City Girl | Rose-tinted Rambles
  8. Begrenztes Denken auf dem Spielplatz | Zeitarbeiterin
  9. Roger, The Bush Pilot And The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  10. DP Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Sabethville
  11. Living In Ogden – It’s All About Community
  12. a stunning society… | ensuing light…
  13. The rainbows in my eyes divide us | 365 days of defiance
  14. society | yi-ching lin photography
  15. of good hosts | Anawnimiss
  16. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | The Wandering Poet
  17. Home Is Where Your Rump Rests | The Dragon Weyr
  18. Saudi Arabia Was Beautiful But I’m Happy It’s Not My Home, Anymore | Kosher Adobo
  19. Daily Prompt: West End Girls « Mama Bear Musings
  20. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | The High Society of Cows and Foxes
  21. Home (Daily Prompt) | Writing and Works
  22. Cricket matches and roosters | A mom’s blog
  23. Daily Prompt: Our House | One Starving Activist
  24. We Are All Immigrants | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  25. Classes In Society | My Little Avalon
  26. Anywhere is a Place for Prayer | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  27. Prompt’d To Post: West End Girls (Fairfield County, Connecticut) « The October Weekend
  28. Culture shock | A picture is worth 1000 words
  29. The beauty in hindsight | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  30. Love Don’t live THERE Anymore | peacefulblessedstar
  31. MANY CULTURES ONE COMMUNITY | Francine In Retirement
  32. The “Hood” back in the day… | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  33. West End Girls: Daily Post | Destino
  34. My home’s patio | Life is great
  35. A real hodge podge … | 365 And Counting
  36. Society | Among the Whispers
  37. Neighbors | Flowers and Breezes
  38. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  39. Society? Who Needs It. | 61 Musings
  40. Daily Prompt: Children’s Society | medicinalmeadows
  41. My Abrupt Descent Into the Cesspit of Humanity | Thinking Diagonally
  42. One drop in a limitless ocean | sayanything
  43. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. West End Girls: Middle East Boys? | Khana’s Web
  45. History outside my doorsteps | Mishe en Place
  46. Now That’s Classy!!! | The Shotgun Girls
  47. CATS! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  48. ONE MORALITY | Emotional Fitness
  49. Maxed-out Cooperate Chihuahua bark | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  50. Society | The Land Slide Photography
  51. Life Isn’t Fair | Deliberating Dave
  52. Blue Collar | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  53. It’s a class act. | I’m talking now.
  54. A city and a village. | The Word Trance
  55. TEACHING CHILDREN TO BE MORAL | Parents Are People Too
  56. One Crazy Mom » Where I Live
  57. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | The Politics of Starving | Gradual Thought
  58. Daily Prompt: West End Girl | beingfiofio
  59. Daily Prompt: Society | That Montreal Girl
  60. Day 48: Society Of One | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  61. Daily Prompt:West End Girls | My Other Blog
  62. Looking back | 2 times pink
  63. After-skiing | Le Drake Noir
  64. West End Girls – West Texas | Yowza, Here We Go!
  65. Different types | Read all about it
  66. No future, no future for you | djgarcia94
  67. Daily Prompt: West End Girls and The Myth of the American Dream « the barren page
  68. If I Grew Up In Allentown. With a Fast Car.
  69. A Word from the Boss | meanderedwanderings
  70. One Force Many People…(WP Daily Prompt) | Daily Observations
  71. Suburbian Blues | Edward Hotspur
  72. DP: Society | As I See It
  73. Along Memory Lane | Wiley’s Wisdom
  74. DAILY PROMPT: I didn’t get fleas. | cockatooscreeching
  75. Actually, I don’t know what to name this post | 20/20 Hines Sight
  76. Queens Gets Her Moment | Laughing Through Life
  77. Know Your World |
  78. Reaching for the Stars
  79. West End Girls | The Nameless One
  80. I was born under a wandering star | Willow’s Corner
  81. Daily prompt: Something different | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  82. Smile and Happiness | Let me see
  83. You Wouldn’t Like To Be My Neighbor | Polymathically
  84. Confessions of a PROJECT GIRL « A Buick in the Land of Lexus
  85. A Small Town: 7pm bed time
  86. Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  87. Do I deserve living at West End? | Little Stories
11 thoughts on “Memories”

Splash Ur Views HERE!

