That Face in the Mirror


I’ve written a few things. Small and insignificant as they are and were, they mean a lot. They give this barren moaning desert of a soul a dream of a thunderstorm, a storm that’ll change the texture of the laughing rocks and fill the air with that earthly smell after the rains.

I’m 30 years old. Old enough to be a father and a manager, and I’m none of them. I see myself in the mirror and an obscure vision of a merely satisfied man appears. A man who wants his petty griefs to end so he concentrates harder on things at hand. His spirit is free but scared to fly high. He’s scared of the vultures and the eagles that hound the skies. And everyday that he wakes up, he wants to be one of them killers.

But he is soft. He loves everyone, wants to respect everyone, gives each opinion a chance to stand and get itself heard. He isn’t scary but only for his demeanor, people hate him. He comes across hard, slaps the living lights out of you to let you in on your true self – your true reflection.

I was 8 years old when I wrote an autobiography about a coin and it’s life. How it travelled from the mint to an ocean. The teacher appreciated it a lot and placed it on the table, on the day of our results for everyone else to read, as an example to emulate in the future. I remember her clapping. Right there, she sowed the itch to write in my heart. I always knew I wanted to write. But what? I never let anyone in on my dream to write until recently.

I’d never written a word and yet I was scared of the evaluation and the seething comments I might receive. I was scared to get ruthlessly dumped out of the vast ocean of writing genius, that waited for me to dip my first toe in it. The pain of it thwarted my heart and I was yet to write a single word.

I’m not extraordinary. I’m simple with nothing more than a few words to offer. I’m clearly short on vocabulary and the grammar ain’t great either.

In 2012 though, I made my move. I had to get a lot of thoughts out of my system. They were clouding my heart and jolting my brain. I opened my account with WordPress after months of washing my face with tears and after further thinking, I decided upon Views Splash, as my pen name. It goes both ways – in soliciting and in providing the views. The name stands just right for me and my readers have done it full justice.

I wasn’t great at first and for a year and 2 months, I never wrote seriously, never made a move to improve, and never wrote enough. It was more thoughtless entertainment. It never satiated me. But inside I always knew, I wanted to do more. A persisting fight with my present wasn’t helping either. I was scared to let my thoughts out for everyone else will know. I’ll become an open book but deep down – I was still digging the grave that I’d been digging for past 30 years.

People have helped me immensely in nearly every matter of my life but not this. They’d built importance and they knew they were a part of every tide I’d faced – whether low or high. Yet they never dared touch my writing, for they’d burn their hands. It was fire they’d play with. Fire of the thoughts that will now flow like magma – uncaring, unrelenting till it cools and settles down by itself providing a more fertile land over time. Land that’ll flourish again with positive thoughts, smiles, and love.

My writing is my reflection and I love how it looks!

Lets see what others have written about this post –

  1. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  2. Writing Challenge: Why Do I Write? | Miss Diaries
  3. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Awl and Scribe
  4. This is Why I Write | Musings | WANGSGARD
  5. Writerly Life | melissuhhsmiles
  6. Writerly Reflections | emilycharlotteould
  7. Keep On Writing, Everyone | Never Stationary
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection | Blessings through raindrops…
  9. Never at a Loss for Words | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  10. Why I Write | Fish Of Gold
  11. Negativity Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  12. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | samallen230
  13. The Beginning | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  14. A Challenge Followed by a Challenge | Kami’s Beautiful Morning
  15. Origin Story: Why I Write | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  16. Why I Write | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  17. Dreaming About My Dream Job | Musings | WANGSGARD
  18. Where it All Began | Passionate Dreaming
  19. My Lifeline | Artfully Aspiring
  20. Ichabod Crane in a 1960s straight legged suite | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  21. Instant Writer: Just Add Library | Charron’s Chatter
  22. (DP Challenge) Life’s Pit Stops: Journal of Becoming a Writer | Jenkins Writings
  23. dear sir or madame would you read my book? | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  24. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | siobhanmcnamara
  25. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | imagination
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  27. Stuck In A Blogging Rut | Eclecticfemale’s Blog
  28. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Morrighan’s Muse
  29. Writing Challenge — Writerly Refections |
  30. Reflection on reading | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  31. DP challenge: Writerly Reflections. | A cup of noodle soup
  32. My Origin Story | Simply Miko
  33. Reponse to- Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | really, villie?
  34. “We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.” —Ernest Hemingway | Chronicles of Illusions
  35. How The Snot People Paved The Way For My Life As a Writer | momaste
  36. Writing Growing Up | Among the Whispers
  37. Writing Challenge: How I became a writer | writingtutortips
  38. Feet in my Shoes, Mary I Am | Mary J Melange
  39. Why write? | fifty5words
  40. Write What You Know | 365 Days of Thank You
  41. My Supergeek Superpower | Abstractions of Life
  42. A Moose and Three Giraffes | Master of Something I’m Yet To Discover
  43. writing is the pits | Musings of a Random Mind
  44. Writerly Reflections | Icezine
  45. writing challenge: reflections | Phylor’s Blog
  46. Falling in Love | Jody Lynne
  47. The Librarian, the Library and the Words | jen groeber: mama art
  48. Why Writers Write | jsleflore
  49. Writerly Reflections | Alexia Jones
  50. Why I Write… | Day to Embrace Change
  51. Writing Sneaks Up, Won’t Go Away | abundance in the boondocks
  52. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | nagwak25
  53. Origins | the little things in life
  54. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | xin’s blog
  55. WRITING CHALLENGE: WRITERLY REFLECTIONS | All I Need Is Pink!
  56. It’s all about the story | Not famous for anything
  57. Bedtime Stories: The Cat Who Wore a Pot On Her Head.” | Destino
  58. Writerly Reflection | Thinking Languages!
  59. writing off the wall | litadoolan
  60. Writerly Reflections: Discovering Poetry | Indigoat Footnote
  61. My Journey As A Writer | The Flibberatic Skreebles
  62. A tale of origins and embarrassing family secrets! | Melissa Barker-Simpson
  63. The day Agatha became my friend | Hope* the happy hugger
  64. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Rose Red Stories
  65. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections, rather my first try for this, how I started writing or what made me start in the first place | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  66. I am and I am not | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  67. How Did I Get Here? | the intrinsickness
  68. Throw Back The Pen | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  69. Writerly Reflections | A Life with Limits
  70. “The miseducation of Nicholas Christian: Origin Story” | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  71. A Reader’s Developement | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  72. Adam Ickes | Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections
  73. A come-back post with Writerly Reflections | TALES OF MY JOURNEYS ACROSS OCEANS
  74. Putting Words on Paper in a Particular Order | Fun with Depression
  75. The Writer With Crayons and Oil Pastels | Irish Noble King
  76. Love of Writing | My Adventures In Marriage
  77. Am I a Writer? | Wine goes best with a good book
  78. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | SIM | ANTICS
  79. Writing, creating, breathing… | Scent of Rina
  80. Gunga Din and me | The Sapient Chronicles
  81. My 8th Grade Work Is Better Than Any Professional Work I’ve Read | Sammi Talk
  82. My need to write? I blame my mother. | christineespeer
  83. Writing Challenge: I Write Because I was Born into a World of Words | theempathyqueen
  84. A Puzzle, Piece By Piece | Polymathically
  85. Writing Process Blog Tour: Little Victories | Be Less Amazing
  86. Barsoom | luvsiesous
  87. A writer of tales | Thin spiral notebook
  88. It all started with a fish! | 1,000 Photos of my Life
  89. My Sister and The Famous Five – Evelyne Holingue
  90. Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth….Chances | Searching for Substance
  91. Urban Bookworm, Secret Wordsmith | Laughing Through Life
  92. Writing Challenge: Reflections | The Day After
  93. How I Got My Superpowers | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  94. DPChallenge: What got me started | xzxJennaxzx
  95. Writerly Reflections | Bako Heat
  96. When the Verbal and Visual Unite, an Expat Writer is Reborn | reinventing the event horizon
  97. I write because I MUST: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  98. Why I Write | Huckleberry Moments
  99. Resurrection | In So Many Words
  100. It’s Kind of a Long Story | Corned Beef Hashtag
25 thoughts on “That Face in the Mirror”

    1. Thanks a million tons Alienora!!! Your comments are few of the most heart warming events of my day… it’s as if you are the Jacinta Kent (my last English teacher) whose comments I always waited for with every baited breath! 😀

      Like

  1. Why should you be scared to write?Writing regularly will help you to get better. Don’t think about negative comments,those are given by some who don’t care.
    I read your post I think you’ve done a great job,it will give you confidence which you and all of us need.

    Like

  2. At first I thought you needed a good shrink then I read on. Beautifully written and I’m so glad you decided to pick up your pen again. I became a follower.

    Like

    1. Yeah it’s so true… but I don’t mind sucking sometimes for it gives me a lot of freedom and space from intruders who then keep away from me! Thanks a ton for your encouragement… 🙂

      Like

  3. What a courageous and honest piece. It’s all so beautiful and heartfelt, and you don’t nearly give yourself enough credit. I wish I could say more, but somehow this has put me at a loss for words. Wonderful post!

    Like

  4. I really loved the read especially the last para “Yet they never dared touch my writing… fertile land over time. Creativity was splashing(Views Splash) out of this post. 🙂

    Like

  5. Dude how do you write so good!!!
    I mean why do you have to doubt yourself. It is pretty amazing what you wrote.
    The opening I thought was going to be about regrets but you turned it around entirely.
    Loved it

    Like

  6. I love your honesty. This post speaks volumes about your best writers. Some wellkn own writers just wrote what was on there minds. Audience wasn’t their main objective. It was simply to get those gnawing thoughts out! I know there are tons of great writers in this community, but some of my favorites are those with grammar errors. Those with everyday vocabulary. It is definitely a breath of fresh air reading this, as I am similar in my writing. I look forward to reading more of your blog in the minutes to come!

    Like

    1. Thanks a ton for your feedback! And that’s precisely how I like to write… the audience is never on my mind… just give it your best shot to put your own thoughts out there and it is sure to win some hearts even if few! 😀

      Like

      1. That’s all it takes! I, personally am tired of having to please people in reality. This is something that is for me and by me. My rules apply, and this is the only place where I don’t have to do something for someone else!

        Like

Splash Ur Views HERE!

