Don’t like your own posts PLEASE!


Okay, here’s the new deal – I see anyone liking their own posts, I’ll simply unfollow them, no matter how good their posts are! The ‘like’ button is for others apart from your physical self, to like your posts. Even when you are operating 2 different blogs, you do not, absolutely not, like your own posts! It’s not cheating, but it definitely gives a clear sign that whatever you do online is for numbers, something I stand against!

Please beware!

42 thoughts on “Don’t like your own posts PLEASE!”

  1. I agree although I do sometimes re blog posts from one blog of mine to another if it applies to both. I don’t really care about the numbers so much as the message if it is something I re blog. Hope I don’t lose you over that. You’ve been so encouraging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh please Easter! Some of my readers are such sweethearts including you that even if they do it, I won’t leave them! Liking and reblogging are different… with reblogging you’re only making a post appear on two pages than just one where it originally sits! While liking makes you come across as very aloof! That’s okay, even if I wrote it, I know I am not going to unfollow anyone but it’s just an information that people shouldn’t do it! πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Aw – thanks so much VS.. I agree that it seems silly to like your own stuff, but maybe others just see it as the right thing to do because they just don’t know better.. we were all new to it at one point or another. πŸ™‚
        Love your site, by the way.
        Have a great weekend,
        Easter

        Liked by 1 person

              1. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much VS – I hope it is a great one too! (Although it has started with a nasty flu and my daughter having pneumonia; hence the lack of posting the last few days). (oh but we are both getting better, so no worries).

                Like

  2. We write our posts for others to judge,so when we see a like sign from our readers we are happy because it gives us a feeling whatever we’ve written some of our readers liked it,if they like it too much they may even write a comment. The feeling then is wow!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m sorry but you have no idea what is going through someone’s head about why they liked a post. You only know what is going through YOUR head. It is extremely arrogant and presumptuous of you to speak for others. Sometimes I will like my own posts but it has NOTHING to do with numbers. Sometimes I feel I wrote something extra special than my normal crap. Sometimes people are just habitual likers. Your following of someone’s blog should be because of what they write or post, not because of something as silly as them liking their own posts.
    Sometimes other people do something different than you and that’s okay.

    Like

    1. Hi Bradley,
      While I completely agree with your last statement ‘Sometimes other people do something different than you and that’s okay’, there are times when people not like you, visit your blog and find great content! I know I don’t have it but you truly do. Your blog shows a lot of work that has gone into it and just this petty little thing distracts that person. Firstly trust me, I haven’t noted you doing it even when you say you do, this was for a general audience who may unknowingly be doing it. I just want to inform them that whatever they write, they write because they already like it and showing it to the world only makes them come across as high headed (I believe the term is) like they look down upon others. This was not a contempt post, just an information that it doesn’t go down well with a lot of people!
      Thanks & Regards,
      Samir

      Like

    1. Doing it accidentally is fine, actually the thought of this post was a result of me ending up liking one of my own comments! And then as I browsed through some other blogs, I saw this pattern which really irked me! Well I can’t call it cheating because we’re all here to raise our ratings in one way or the other but that one really tops the charts in a rather shabby way! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Makes sense; I don’t click ‘like’ on my posts, but what about following yourself? I do it so that I can confirm my posts were successful and see how they look in the reader. I just started this past January and am learning new things everyday. Also, what about reblogging your own posts, what’s up with that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think following yourself mustn’t be an issue as it doesn’t disturb an audit purpose and who really cares about a solitary follow when you it’s your own!
      I recently reblogged an old post of mine, to let the daily prompt people know that they were repeating the prompts quite frequently! I think in such cases, reasons matter! πŸ˜€
      Thanks a ton for your comment Kelly!

      Like

  5. I’ve never clicked “like” on one of my own blog posts, but I have occasionally hit “like” on my own Facebook posts.

    On a message board that I frequent, you can “like” or “dislike” any post, but the buttons are not available for your own posts. How much programming would actually be required to disable self-likes?

    However, does it lead to a slippery slope when it comes to liking a post that you are referred to or tagged in? I have a feeling that is a completely different situation, however.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree! Self likes should be completely disabled… don’t think there is any need for them. And yes the latter is a completely different situation and liking a post that you’re tagged in, is absolutely fine, for it’s a kind of thanks to the person who made the post and to the person who tagged in it! πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. I completely agree. I make most of my posts from my phone. I must’ve been fumbling around because I got a wordpress email saying I liked my own stuff. Even with an automated email was embarrassing. I fixed that little problem right away. Besides everyone already knows the writer likes his post.

    Like

Splash Ur Views HERE!

