It’s Friday Again


It’s Friday again! Last time I wrote something, was Friday too. This sucks. All my blogging has jumped out the window into a squishy puddle and here I am sitting as uninspired as I have ever been.

Writing suddenly seems the job of a privileged few. Time and energy absorb all my thoughts for the day and even when fingers are ready to start dancing on the keyboard again, the brain keeps dead.

Anyways, here’sΒ a question. How many times does your work day break into something ever so beautiful and relaxing? Mine did, yesterday.

It was one of those weird Delhi evenings that plunged into darkness earlier than usual, for its summer and the sun doesn’t set till some minutes after 7 pm. Yesterday though, the weather Gods generously laid some mercy on the scorching earth. HavingΒ to stay late for some urgent delivery and with the office emptying at the rate of knots, I got some time on my hands and was left pondering whether to indulge in some writing or extend some gratitude to fellow bloggers first. With no ideas lurking close, latter ensued.

The skies suddenly went murky and triggered a thunderstorm with parched rains. The rain, how much ever it was, rammed hard into the windows, cooling the dry earth and buildings, quenching some thirst. It was beautiful. But I wasn’t enjoying it, for the fear of rain triggered traffic jams started to set in.

Time passed slow gazing at my laptop with the skies in the background, and with the delivery done, came my turn to head out and ride the devil. OH WHAT SMELL OF THE EARTH greeted me! A surprising smile broke on a slumbering face. The cool air mixed with rain washed dust, beat my helmet, and I felt no remorse in taking it off to expose my face to the wind. There was a certain silence in that whistling storm. So strong were the winds, they nearly pulled the feet off my bike a couple of times, and had I been any lighter, would certainly have scraped my ass a couple of times, at least.

I felt a tingle running from my feet into my spine. It was so freshening and relieving, and I couldn’t help but thank my decision to stay late in the office till late.

It’s been a draining week and life’s not about to get any better for a couple more. With a huge delivery coming up and a barrage of defects expected, next weekend could be a tough one. This weekend though, I have my wifes root canal treatment coming up. Oh that pain, that pain I feel when she silently keeps wincing with every bite, I want it to end. And so it will, with a series of sittings at a dentist.

Well then, here’s me signing off, simply hoping for better days ahead!

17 thoughts on “It’s Friday Again”

  1. Peoples’ own stressors can easily overshadow everything else, including natural beauty like storms. In some sense, I was like that when I was younger by being afraid of storms.

    I wrote about the weather and congruence to mood a few months ago on my blog, and in some sense, I feel the storm implied a congruence to your frustration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And I wondered if you vanished due to the Delhi heat!! Thank god for that shower πŸ™‚
    Don’t worry Samir. Your wife will be fine soon πŸ™‚
    Take Care πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. hehehehe…. it’s quite possible that people disappear in this searing heat! Yes thanks to that shower, we’re all still alive! πŸ˜€
      And thanks for your wishes!

      Like

  3. Oh that smell…is just awesome..it rained in my city too few days ago πŸ˜€
    and don’t worry your wife will get better in few days πŸ™‚
    Take Care

    Like

Splash Ur Views HERE!

