Spam Comments


How many of you have suffered this way? You get a comment as below –

Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
Would you be interested in trading links or maybe
guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My website
covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we
could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog
by the way!”.

As you can see, the only ambiguity in this comment is the email address, which isn’t provided. There are no grammatical or spelling mistakes or there may be one in “I’d” but I for one, found it very easy to go down this dump.

I got excited and all worked up because the link on the name took me to Wall Street Journal, Indian Edition – well that Kind of blew some part of me away for a night at least. I get up in the morning and the first thing I do is shoot an email at the given address in the comment and BAM! There’s a delivery failure.

OOOOOHHHH I lost sleep over this one?

This is a such a waste of everyone’s time. Why do this? What does anyone gain from this? Is there any way to escape them apart from the Akismet given by WordPress that does an all-time-amazing job at keep us unflustered in our blogging experience?

And if you Kate Johnson are a real person, please send me an email at samirmishra_05@outlook.com.

Thank You for all the nonsense you’ve created this morning!

14 thoughts on “Spam Comments”

  1. Oh, Samir, I can’t tell you how relieved I am that I am not alone in this. I check my Spam mail from time to time – and find LOADS of emails of this type. It is such a con. One got on to my blog the other day: I almost fell for it – until I saw the ten or more, from the same source, which had already been shot straight into Spam. As you say, a waste of our time. xx

    Like

    1. I get a tons of these in my spam too but somehow, this one managed to reach my comments section that wasn’t spam and hence this goof up! But please be careful and always verify the source before any action! 😀

      Like

  2. I have not gotten those comments yet, but I am certainly going to be more cautious about things that look like that.

    I think one of the red flags is if it comes from a “blogger” that doesn’t provide a link to his/her own blog, or one that is completely unfamiliar to you.

    Unfortunately, spammers seem to be finding ways to become more believable than the “Nigerian prince” e-mails…

    Like

    1. Yes they do… frankly I read some rules somewhere that were very true about spams but it never mentioned that the website that they point to, must be verified and hence I ended up making a fool of myself! It’s a lesson nonetheless! 😀

      Like

    1. Yes it took me to Wall Street Journal Indian edition but still I ended up making a fool of myself! But I learnt an important lesson today to verify authenticity before any action! 😀

      Like

  3. Every once in a while, one of these spammers sounds like the real deal. I have learned to go and check if there’s a real website that belongs to the person supposedly writing. Sometimes I’m still not sure, but these days, I err on the side of caution. If I’m not sure, I assume it’s spam.

    Like

    1. Thanks to Google that it never turned out to be a mistake but yes, I did check which website did her name point out to and still went ahead to shoot an email thinking what if, she is right? But the answer was very deservedly in the negative and hence, the post! I’ve learnt today that anything that doesn’t in the first instance point towards authenticity must be avoided! 😀

      Like

Splash Ur Views HERE!

