Job or It’s The End Of You and Me!


time-management

Us? We are engineering students. Our life and career runs on deadlines and ultimatums.

“I need that code tomorrow OR!” – Boss.

“If your assignment isn’t submitted by evening in my class, you’re going to have to show your ass in the Principals office tomorrow!” – Professor.

“When are semester exams starting?”… “Tomorrow???”… “I’m fucked!” – Me.

Our hands and feet don’t move till we are as close to deadlines as close is the whisper of death to me when I’m driving!

But that’s all fun. It’s when life-altering decisions are at hand that ultimatums and deadlines show their true colors. They can make you pee in your pants, quite literally. Think of the moment when you may get informed of your terminal illness! Yes, ultimatums and deadlines sometimes show their face when they are least expected and that’s when they make a dent or help you remove one.

Fighting a deadline or an ultimatum is a true test of your character, decision-making prowess and clarity in thoughts and nothing in world strengthens your belief in yourself than conquering one!

Regarding a situation when I threw an ultimatum at someone, it was right at me. I was helpless. The period in which I was looking for a job was nothing less than a mountain to climb everyday and come back down and sleep and repeat the same thing over and over for next 18 months. Shattered wouldn’t even start to define my state of mind. But I had a challenge at hand and I made sure to make an effort everyday to complete it day by day, little by little. So knocked was my confidence in myself after I lost my first job before even joining it, that it took me ages to find myself back again, that same me who had competition for lunch and wins for dinner!

So I threw an ultimatum to myself after I joined my first temporary job at a BPO. That this will never be repeated in my entire life again. I will not go through this humiliation ever again and I have to find a job that’s worthy of my time and effort and hard work and that right after I complete my Mainframes course or else it may be time to look at reducing some weight from this earth which in my case is and was – substantial. I worked and studied hard. Ate even lesser and brought my sleep down to a few hours in the night only to repeat it for the next 2 months. And I won. I got my first job at Accenture and that story is right here.

Here’s what others are writing about Ultimatums –

  1. Daily Prompt: With or Without You-Solving Conflict | Journeyman
  2. Daily Prompt: Complex « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Feuding Neighbors Create “Sno-Man’s” Land | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  5. A Very Big Mistake | Knowledge Addiction
  6. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  7. Brandon’s Mentor And The Daily Prmpt | The Jittery Goat
  8. When People Have More Faith in You than Yourself | Rima Hassan
  9. Drawing a line in the sand: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  10. Streetlight | 365 days of defiance
  11. Daily Prompt: Till Death do us Part? | Anniemation Floe
  12. A Game of Picnic | My Play Nook
  13. Stop Telling Lies Or Else! – Writing | wangsgard.com
  14. Torture of Four Years | Daily Prompt: With or Without You | likereadingontrains
  15. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Sabethville
  16. Get It In Gear | The Shotgun Girls
  17. Where are your gods now (a tale) | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  18. On the hook | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  19. Putting it All on the Line Prayers and Promises
  20. 268. Ultimatum | Barely Right of Center
  21. A Day Different | Random Blotches
  22. The 19th of June 1982 – Hometown, Pennsylvania | Forgotten Correspondance
  23. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | theshamelesswanderer
  24. Daily Prompt : With or Without You | Valley Girl Gone Country
  25. Life Is Complex | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  26. Me or him- it’s your choice | Animal Love
  27. Me or him- it’s your choice | A picture is worth 1000 words
  28. DP: Us or Them | Scorched Ice
  29. A picture is worth 1000 words
  30. WITH OR WITHOUT YOU: IT DOESN’T ALWAYS WORK OUT THE WAY YOU EXPECT | SERENDIPITY
  31. simple (senryu in three parts) | peacefulblessedstar
  32. Ultimatums and Death | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  33. Ultimatums and Triple Dog Dares! | meanderedwanderings
  34. Too late | Life is great
  35. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  36. Daily Prompt: With or Without You « Mama Bear Musings
  37. The Forever Choice | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  38. i would repeat you | y
  39. Only With You | A mom’s blog
  40. My Brother, the Incorrigible Drunk | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  41. In Line Of Fire | Flowers and Breezes
  42. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  43. Fighting Ultimatums | Ana Linden
  44. No More Contacts Please ! | My Life and My Career
  45. Nicki Minaj and A Free Fall. | meg lago
  46. Pointillism in Borneo | Mishe en Place
  47. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Basically Beyond Basic
  48. yesterday’s snow lets | y
  49. You Stop This NOW! | Buzzy Beez
  50. Idyllic way of traffic or nostalgia | Le Drake Noir
  51. Ultimatums are bad. All the time. Just say no. | Curious Jac
  52. The Camino Plan | Exploring Assisi – The Unintentional Pilgrimage (Part 1)
  53. Daily Prompt: Complex | Occasional Stuff
  54. As For Me and My House… | The Christian Gazette
  55. Giving Ultimatums To Cats
  56. When your kid throws down the gauntlet | Parents Are People Too
  57. It’s Your Job Now, D’ya Hear Me? | Shades of Teal
  58. With or Without You | Destino
  59. Somebody Saved Me Today: But Who? | THE OVERCOMING
  60. a half-whispered | y
  61. It’s not over! | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  62. Baby, you gotta pick | missmoodygirl
  63. With or Without You | Scribbled Posts
  64. Ending A Friendship – Compass & Quill
  65. Daily Prompt: With or Without You | Occasional Stuff
  66. Why do I Hate Liars So Much? | Schizo Incognito
  67. How to sidestep every day wars | Emotional Fitness
  68. Sometimes It Is about the Money | My Author-itis
  69. Daily Prompt: Complex | That Montreal Girl
  70. Cable Cut-off | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  71. Daily Prompt: Ultimatums and Liberation! | Odyssey of a Novice Writer
  72. Push and Pull. | Simple Heart Girl
  73. Daily prompt: Old tomatoes grow mould | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  74. Continue? | Wanderlein

20 thoughts on “Job or It’s The End Of You and Me!”

  1. I think you were right at your place.Your parent acts as a source to your ………thinking that you were doing the best for your carear

    Like

Splash Ur Views HERE!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Just Poetry

and everything else...

Daily Story Prompts

Beat Writer's Block

Neelam Nanwani

From Wounds to Wisdom

Sacred Soul Mysteries - Mystical Prayers - Kenosis is Love

🐛 For Caterpillars Seeking The Butterfly Within 🦋

Zen's Therapy.

Zen Therapy.

Church of the Wheel

Here you will find a place that opens the doorway to your journey into your own Divinity.

Lingua: Ex Libris Life

"create...& live twice"

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

MIRACLES EACH DAY

An Occasional Blog of Devotionals Inspired by A Course in Miracles, A Course of Love, The Way of Mastery, Choose Only Love, The Way of the Marys, and The Age of the Heart. . .with Celia Hales - https://www.amazon.com/author/celiahales

Shamanism and Intuition on the Pathway to Change

Shamanic Counseling, Healing and the Medicine Wheel

SuDhi

A Blog About Writing, Creative Ideas, And Making A Difference In The World. I'm A Writer Who Helps Other Writers And Creative Individuals Find Their Passion And Share It With The World.

Alexis Chateau

Born a Yaad | Adventuring Abroad™

sociotrics

The impressions from the world around

A series of uninteresting blog posts

Depository for inane and mostly self-indulgent writings