I’ve Danced and Once!


I’ve danced and once. That was it and that’s it! I’m never doing it again.

We in India have a practice of leading the groom to the marriage hall and it’s one of the most festive occasions with lots of fun and lots and lots of dance. It’s so crazy that some faint, some need ice baths, some glucose water and energy drinks, and all of them look like they’ve arrived from a war when they finally reach the ceremony site! This part of the marriage is called a “Baaraat“. Yes they are “AAAAA” sounds (open your mouth out wide and just make a sound) on both sides of the “R”.

The dancing is the craziest part. I enjoyed it thoroughly when people and relatives danced madly for me in my marriage and I danced too, for myself, but most, who saw it, would say I looked more electrically shocked than a dancer, and even I refrain from calling it a dance. It was absolutely no holds barred. My brother made it his occasion though. He danced throughout the Baaraat and had to get his lungs pumped for air later, so tired was he. But it was terrific. I couldn’t have loved it more. But his advantage was always a lean body and that somehow he always got his moves gelled together beautifully.

In the image featured with this post, you’ll see a boy in a grey suit in the center. That’s my Brother and that was the madness that night!

Not me!

I am shy. I so hate my dancing skills that I’d rather even not talk about them. But as I am to talk about them in this daily prompt, I’ll say I’m slow, crawler, who moves like a sloth. Someone asked me then – “All prepped up for Baaraat?”. I started sweating profusely at the question itself. Oh how will I survive that ordeal?

The answer, as I’d come to know it, was in my mind itself. I understood the meaning of the term “Let Go” that night! It just ticked. I heard it tick. I think I’m understating it a bit. It was a ticking bomb waiting for that perfect condition. The songs were already playing and I saw a few of my relatives starting to gather between the commotion. I knew this was it. The volume rose, the beats started, and so did my feet. I didn’t care what song that was. After the first couple of moves, I thought it wasn’t difficult and people kind of expected me to dance that night. It was my brother’s marriage!

And once I started, I don’t remember stopping or pausing except for water breaks. I danced till the brothers from the girl side finally carried him into a prayer on their shoulders. And then we danced some more! I remember one of my better friends coming to meet me and I hugged him when suddenly my legs went numb and I fell right on his feet! Damn!

I’ve never danced more and I’ve now danced enough! But I learnt a lot about myself then, lessons never to be forgotten!

Let’s see what others think about dancing and whether they are one 😉 –

  1. of dancing with strange men | Anawnimiss
  2. Throwback Thursday | Rima Hassan
  3. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance-Psychology Behind Moving Our Body | Journeyman
  4. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Dancers in the Barren | Exploratorius
  6. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  7. Let’s Dance! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  8. DP Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Sabethville
  9. Dancing On The Beach | The Ambitious Drifter
  10. Let’s Get Our Legs Bruised | Knowledge Addiction
  11. Flamenco | Foto Challenge
  12. Daily Prompt – Let’s Dance | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  13. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  14. Songs for Me and Only Me | Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | likereadingontrains
  15. Tip and The Daily Prompt: Mom Taught Me The Chaleston | The Jittery Goat
  16. in concert, there ought | y
  17. annie | yi-ching lin photography
  18. Dancing Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  19. …put on your red shoes and dance the blues | thoughtsofrkh
  20. Ring My Bell | Greg Urbano
  21. Full speed ahead | Crap I Blog About
  22. My Two Left Feet
  23. 269. Lord of the Dance | Barely Right of Center
  24. Cadence | La Gatita Oscura
  25. Put The Big Floppy Hat Down And Dance | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  26. Jive… | Hope* the happy hugger
  27. Not Dancing | Maria For Real
  28. Daily Prompt: Dance | EmeraldCity
  29. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. WordPress daily prompt: Let’s Dance | I solemnly swear i am upto no good!
  31. Solace | Prose of the Frequently Amused
  32. Dance On! | Life Confusions
  33. Daily Prompt: Being a Dancer! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  34. Daily Prompt: An Ode to Dancing Memories | melanielynngriffin
  35. Broken Dreams? | Tale of Two Tomatoes
  36. DP: Let’s Dance – As the End Draws Near | aliabbasali
  37. DANCING PAINTED PONIES | SERENDIPITY
  38. Happy 30th Birthday, Daddy! | Beez Giftz
  39. Dance on and on and on and on | Emotional Fitness
  40. In the Mood | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  41. Movement | The Land Slide Photography
  42. Memories of Dancing | Flowers and Breezes
  43. Daring to Dance in the Early Days | This Is Real Life
  44. Make them laugh | Life is great
  45. Yellow Shirts and the Hokey-Pokey | …Then Came Dance
  46. Dancing in the Kitchen | Monica’s Musings
  47. Daily Prompt: Dance | Different Isn’t Wrong, It’s Just Different
  48. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | kimmcnulty
  49. Dancing with Dreams | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  50. Chubby Cheeks & Chubby Checker | bemuzin
  51. On the Road to Regionals… Literally! | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  52. Alley Cat | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  53. Daily Prompt: Doing the Hustle | Morrighan’s Muse
  54. Dance to the rhythm in your heart | sunny side dreamers
  55. Dance: Daily Post | Destino
  56. Dance your Dreams Out | Nerd.Laugh.Love
  57. Dance Dance Baybee!! | My pitter patter wordfaLL 🙂
  58. Feb Photo Challenge 27 | Queenie
  59. Waltzing Mildred | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  60. LET’S DANCE! | Francine In Retirement
  61. Dancing With Girls! | My Musings | WANGSGARD.COM
  62. dancing days | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  63. Good Old Mountain Music | Menimèse Creare
  64. Movement- Daily Prompt | The Rider
  65. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance |
  66. You Lost WHAT On The Dance Floor?! | I AGREE with you but…
  67. Dancing On My Own… | Cabernet In The Dark
  68. The Lament | Blue Loft
  69. Let’s dance | Fictionalism
  70. … Remember that scene in Hitch? | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  71. Motivation: What Should I Do With My Life? | Mirth and Motivation
  72. DP: Movement | An old fart back in school
  73. My Earliest Memories of Dance | Woven Stars & Chocolate Bars
  74. Let’s Dance | An Accountant and a Mum
  75. Daily Prompt – Movement – Gracious |
  76. A Dancer’s Life Cycle | The Book of Shayne
  77. The Blog Farm | Motivation: What Should I Do With My Life?
  78. When Bowie Asks You to Dance, You Dance! | snippets and words
  79. Dance Dance Revolution | meg lago
  80. Daily Prompt: Dance Dance Dance | Life’s So Sweet
  81. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Yowza, Here We Go!
  82. The next big thing | Trucker Turning Write
  83. Move | fifty5words
  84. Daily Prompt: Movement | That Montreal Girl
  85. Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance – Dancin’ with Myself | SA:ME (사메)
  86. Lawrence Welk and the Potion of Dance
  87. My DJ Dance Jukebox from Heaven | Kosher Adobo
  88. Lux
  89. b-girl | peacefulblessedstar
  90. Halloween Dance 1979 | 365 Days of Thank You
  91. MOVEMENT: A Mighty Move! | The Christian Gazette
  92. What are your earliest and fondest memories of dance? | askgrampa
  93. Dance Like Nobody’s Watching | Wiley’s Wisdom
  94. Just Keep Your Head Above | Wiley’s Wisdom
  95. Doing the Dance (knowing when to step forward and when to step back) | Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept…
  96. Tradition | Wanderlein

16 thoughts on “I’ve Danced and Once!”

Splash Ur Views HERE!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Just Poetry

and everything else...

Daily Story Prompts

Beat Writer's Block

Neelam Nanwani

From Wounds to Wisdom

Sacred Soul Mysteries - Mystical Prayers - Kenosis is Love

🐛 For Caterpillars Seeking The Butterfly Within 🦋

Zen's Therapy.

Zen Therapy.

Church of the Wheel

Here you will find a place that opens the doorway to your journey into your own Divinity.

Lingua: Ex Libris Life

"create...& live twice"

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

MIRACLES EACH DAY

An Occasional Blog of Devotionals Inspired by A Course in Miracles, A Course of Love, The Way of Mastery, Choose Only Love, The Way of the Marys, and The Age of the Heart. . .with Celia Hales - https://www.amazon.com/author/celiahales

Shamanism and Intuition on the Pathway to Change

Shamanic Counseling, Healing and the Medicine Wheel

SuDhi

A Blog About Writing, Creative Ideas, And Making A Difference In The World. I'm A Writer Who Helps Other Writers And Creative Individuals Find Their Passion And Share It With The World.

Alexis Chateau

Born a Yaad | Adventuring Abroad™

sociotrics

The impressions from the world around

A series of uninteresting blog posts

Depository for inane and mostly self-indulgent writings